Ben Affleck and ‘Argo’ Take the Directors Guild Awards

Ben Affleck, ArgoThe Oscars is anything but set in stone, with three weeks ahead before winners are announced and a number of categories still up in the air. For the Best Picture race, though, the wind is heading in an unmistakable direction towards Argo. After nabbing crucial wins with the PGA, the SAG, and now the DGA, the film’s cemented in history whether it wins or loses. With all three major guilds voting in its favor, it’d be a shock for it to walk away empty handed. If it wins, it sends a message that the directors prize need not go hand in hand with Best Picture, an encouraging notion to say the least.

But the news of the night wasn’t just Affleck and Argo‘s continuation of success. Searching for Sugar Man, too, found itself largely cementing its Oscar chances in the documentary race. Perhaps the more ecstatic news of the night was in television, where Girls creator Lena Dunham took the prize for comedy direction, and Rian Johnson took an award for working on the most recent season of Breaking Bad in the dramatic branch. I suppose Looper fans can at least pretend he was acknowledged for his sci-fi hit, unless they’re even bigger fans of his deep-throated, suppressed work on the AMC series.

You can check out the full list of winners below, courtesy of In Contention.

2013 Directors Guild of America
Award Winners

Breaking BadOutstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film
Ben Affleck, Argo

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary
Malik Bendjelloul, Searching for Sugar Man

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Mini-Series
Jay Roach, Game Change

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series
Rian Johnson, Breaking Bad

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series
Lena Dunham, Girls

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Musical Variety
Glenn Weiss, 66th Annual Tony Awards

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs
Brian Smith, Master Chef

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Daytime Serials
Jill Mitwell, One Life to Live

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs
Paul Hoen, Let it Shine

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials
Alejandro González Iñárritu, Best Job

Lifetime Achievement Award
Milos Forman

Robert B. Aldrich Service Award
Michael Apted

Lifetime Achievement in News Direction Award
Eric Shapiro

Frank Capra Achievement Award
Susan Zwerman

Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award
Dency Nelson

, , , , , , , ,

Privacy Polcy | Contact Us