//Bigelow Becomes First Female DGA Winner

Bigelow Becomes First Female DGA Winner

The Hurt Locker continues its push towards a 2010 Best Picture win with another major precursor award. Kathryn Bigelow has become the first female director ever to win the Best Director of a Feature Film Award from the Directors Guild of America. Bigelow beats out her ex-husband, James Cameron for Avatar, Lee Daniels for Precious, Jason Reitman for Up in the Air, and Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds.

What do you think? Does this cement Bigelow’s Oscar win?

Alex started Film Misery in early 2009 after living the site’s title for many years. His film obsession began in high school when he and his friends would see all of the Oscar Best Picture nominees and try to make predictions...Full Bio.