L.A. Film Critics Give More Love to ‘Hurt Locker’

With the second major precursor of the day reporting, Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker just got an even bigger boost. The Los Angeles Film Critics Association have announced their winners and Locker won Best Picture and Best Director. It wasn’t a sweep this time around like it was for the Boston Critics as Up in the Air managed to snag the screenplay award and the acting and technical awards were all over the place.

Traditionally the winner of the L.A. Film Critics Award does not go on to win Best Picture, but this recent surge of support for The Hurt Locker is a big deal. If the New York critics, who announce their picks tomorrow, feel similarly this could mean we officially have a frontrunner on our hands.

View the full list of winners after the jump…

Los Angeles Film Critics Awards Winners 2009

Best Picture
The Hurt Locker
(Runner Up: Up in the Air)

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
(Runner Up: Michael Haneke – The White Ribbon)

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
(Runner Up: Colin Firth – A Single Man)

Best Actress
Yolande Moreau РS̩raphine
(Runner Up: Carey Mulligan – An Education)

Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds
(Runner Up: Peter Capaldi – In the Loop)

Best Supporting Actress
Mo’Nique – Precious
(Runner Up: Anna Kendrick – Up in the Air)

Best Screenplay
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner – Up in the Air
(Runner Up: Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche – In the Loop)

Best Animated Film
Fantastic Mr. Fox
(Runner Up: Up)

Best Documentary Feature
The Beaches of Agnes and The Cove (tie)

Best Foreign Film
Summer Hours
(Runner Up: The White Ribbon)

Best Cinematography
Christian Berger – The White Ribbon
(Runner Up: Barry Ackroyd – The Hurt Locker)

Best Production Design
Philip Ivey – District 9
(Runner Up: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg – Avatar)

Best Music/Score
T-Bone Burnett and Stephen Bruton – Crazy Heart
(Runner Up: Alexandre Desplat – Fantastic Mr. Fox)

New Generation
Neill Blomkamp – District 9

View the Precursor Chart

[Source: HitFix]


Comments are closed.
Privacy Polcy | Contact Us