//LA Film Critics Awards Honor ‘The Master’ and ‘Amour’

LA Film Critics Awards Honor ‘The Master’ and ‘Amour’

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association voted Sunday on their awards for the best in film for 2012. Announcing their winners and runners-up via Twitter, LAFCA awarded their top prize to Michael Haneke’s Amour. The film, which won the Palme d’Or earlier this year at the Cannes Film Festival, also nabbed a Best Actress Prize for its co-star Emmanuelle Riva (Riva shared the award with Silver Linings Playbook‘s Jennifer Lawrence).

Easily the most popular film amongst the voting body – even more than Amour – is The Master. While it only ranked in as a runner-up to Amour in the Best Picture category, Paul Thomas Anderson’s ambitious film still picked up a whopping four top prizes (Best Director, Best Actor for Joaquin Phoenix, Best Supporting Actor for Amy Adams and Best Production Design), in addition to placing second in two other categories (Cinematography and Musical Score).

Other big winners include Beasts of the Southern Wild, whose co-star Dwight Henry won for Best Supporting Actor. Beasts‘ co-composers Benh Zeitlin and Dan Romer were the ones who beat The Master‘s Johnny Greenwood for Best Musical Score. Zeitlin, who also directed the film, won the Circle’s New Generation Award, which has in the past been given to breakthrough stars/filmmakers like Alexander Payne, Mark Ruffalo and Martin Scorsese.

Notably absent were Oscar contenders Lincoln and Zero Dark Thirty, despite their momentum in the past few weeks. The latter film only won a LAFCA Award for Best Editing, though it did place second in the Best Director category.

If the results of the LA Film Critics’ circle give you any pause regarding the direction in which the Oscar race is heading, don’t fret too much. LAFCA is a voting party famous for going against the grain, and habitually demonstrates clear biases for particular filmmakers. For example, they have been in love with Paul Thomas Anderson ever since he won their New Generation Award in 1997 for his breakthrough film Boogie Nights. Most noteworthy is the fact that, of the 36 awards ceremonies they’ve held since 1975, only eight of their “Best Picture” winners have gone on to win the Oscar. So these results are unlikely to ruffle any feathers.

Below are the LA Film Critics Awards winners below as they are announced (with brief analysis to follow):

LA Film Critics Awards Winners 2012

Best Picture
RUNNER-UP: The Master

Best Foreign Film
WINNER: Holy Motors
RUNNER-UP: Footnote

Best Director
WINNER: Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master
RUNNER-UP: Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actress
WINNERS: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook and Emmanuelle Riva, Amour (TIE)

Best Actor
WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix, The Master
RUNNER-UP: Denis Levant, Holy Motors

Best Supporting Actor:
WINNER: Dwight Henry, Beasts of the Southern Wild
RUNNER-UP: Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained

Best Supporting Actress
WINNER: Amy Adams, The Master
RUNNER-UP: Anne Hathaway, The Dark Knight Rises and Les Miserables

Best Screenplay
WINNER: Chris Terrio, Argo
RUNNER-UP: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Documentary
WINNER: The Gatekeepers
RUNNER-UP: Searching for Sugar Man

Best Animation
WINNER: Frankenweenie
RUNNER-UP: It’s Such a Beautiful Day

Best Editing
WINNER: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, Zero Dark Thirty
RUNNER-UP: William Goldenberg, Argo

Best Cinematography
WINNER: Roger Deakins, Skyfall
RUNNER-UP: Mihai Malaimare Jr., The Master

Best Music Score
WINNER: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
RUNNER-UP: Johnny Greenwood, The Master

Best Production Design:
WINNER: David Crank and Jack Fisk, The Master
RUNNER-UP: Adam Stockhausen, Moonrise Kingdom

Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award

Benh Zeitlin, director of Beasts of the Southern Wild

Justin has been subjecting the masses to his online movie ramblings since 2009, and has been writing for Film Misery since 2011. When he isn’t wasting his hours defending the value of Steven Spielberg’s latter-year output or...Full Bio.