//‘The Hurt Locker’ Wins PGA Award

‘The Hurt Locker’ Wins PGA Award

The Producers Guild of America has given The Hurt Locker more momentum towards a Best Picture win at this year’s Oscars. The guild has awarded their top prize to Kathryn Bigelow’s Iraq war film, increasing its momentum after it won the Critics Choice Award last weekend and wracked up a massive amount of precursors. This was also an important win for The Hurt Locker because it shows that not only critics love this film, but voting members of the industry do as well.

Only 5 times out of 9 has the PGA winner gone on to win the Oscar, but the past two years that has been the case. Can the PGA make it three in a row?

View the PGA awards after the jump…

Producers Guild of America Awards 2010

The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Motion Pictures
Kathryn Bigelow
Mark Boal
Nicolas Chartier
Greg Shapiro

The Producer of the Year Award in Animated Motion Pictures
Jonas Rivera

The Producer of the Year Award in Documentary Motion Pictures
Fisher Stevens
Paula DuPré Pesmen

Alex started Film Misery in early 2009 after living the site’s title for many years. His film obsession began in high school when he and his friends would see all of the Oscar Best Picture nominees and try to make predictions...Full Bio.