//Washington D.C. Film Critics Award Nominations 2010

Washington D.C. Film Critics Award Nominations 2010

The first critics group out of the gate once again is the Washington DC Area Film Critics Association who announced their nominees today with the winners announcement coming on Monday. They seem to be following in the footsteps of the National Board of Review with a lot of love for The Social Network, which was nominated in 8 categories. The Social Network was followed by Black Swan, True Grit, and Inception, which each received 7 nominations and 127 Hours which received 6 nominations. The most notable omission is The King’s Speech which missed out in Best Feature, Best Director, and Best Acting Ensemble despite getting three acting nominations.

Last year all of five of the Washington D.C. Film Critics Best Feature nominees went on to receive a nomination for Best Picture and if the trends continue as they are, I would expect that to be the same this year. I predict that The Social Network will be on top in several of the main categories including Best Feature when the winners are announced on Monday.

Do you think this gives a good indication as to the mindset of the critics associations?

Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association
Award Nominations 2010

Best Film
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
Toy Story 3

Best Director
Daren Aronofsky, Black Swan
Danny Boyle, 127 Hours
Joel and Ethan Coen, True Grit
David Fincher, The Social Network
Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges, True Grit
Robert Duvall, Get Low
Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network
Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
James Franco, 127 Hours

Best Actress
Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right
Anne Hathaway, Love & Other Drugs
Nicole Kidman, Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale, The Fighter
Andrew Garfield, The Social Network
John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
Sam Rockwell, Conviction
Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter, The King’s Speech
Melissa Leo, The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit
Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Best Acting Ensemble
The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The Social Network
The Town

Best Adapted Screenplay
Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy, 127 Hours
Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Michael Arndt, Toy Story 3
Joel and Ethan Coen, True Grit
Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini, Winter’s Bone

Best Original Screenplay
Mike Leigh, Another Year
Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin, Black Swan
Christopher Nolan, Inception
Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are All Right
David Seidler, The King’s Speech

Best Animated Feature
Despicable Me
How to Train Your Dragon
Toy Story 3

Best Documentary
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Inside Job
The Tillman Story
Waiting for ‘Superman’

Best Foreign Language Film
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
I Am Love
White Material

Best Art Direction
Alice in Wonderland
Black Swan
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1
True Grit

Best Cinematography
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
True Grit

Best Score
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
True Grit

The winners will be announced on Monday.

[Source: Award Daily | Image: OutNow!]

Alex started Film Misery in early 2009 after living the site’s title for many years. His film obsession began in high school when he and his friends would see all of the Oscar Best Picture nominees and try to make predictions...Full Bio.